In the vineyards from Saint-Amour to Romanèche-Thorins


Château de Juliénas. Built on an old fortified residence, the château, which belonged to the Lord of Beaujeu, went into the ownership of the Dukes of Bourbon-Montpensier and was then acquired in 1907 by Claude Condemine. A remarkable residence with 250 metre wine stores, the longest in the Beaujolais region, that have kept their original “marchons” (stone huts), cut in the stone. Today, Thierry cultivates the 35 hectares of Juliénas vines and produces four vintages. One of the plots dates back to 1900, that of the great-grandfather whose old vines are kept for a special vintage as well as a further two hectares fenced off to produce yet another vintage for maturing. Its niche (just 3,000 bottles), the Claude Condemine vintage, elaborated from pressed wine put into barrels between five and ten years, gives a Juliénas to be kept, atypical, rich with notes of cocoa. Visits of the vines, fermentation rooms and tastings are organised by appointment every Thursday at 5pm.


dames du vin en <!  :fr  >A   De Saint Amour à Romanèche Thorins<!  :  ><!  :en  >A  From Saint Amour to Romanèche Thorins<!  :  >

Domaine des Hauts de Chénas. The Chénas, a rare pedigree vintage, is the wine of Nathalie Fauvin’s domaine. A viticulturist whose love of the vine is grounded in her heart. Just one grape variety but vintages, including the Séléné, a beautiful discovery of a wine in the feminine, full of finesse, and revealing, behind its garnet colour, floral and woody aromas, pure pleasure. Nathalie’s mother looks over the stove. You can have lunch on the terrace with its stunning view, enjoying local dishes: andouillette, marbled ham or snails, all of which can be swallowed down with a Chénas. To round the day off, you should pay a visit to the P’tit musée d’Emile, dedicated to old wine and vineyard tools. Vine tour and tastings, by appointment. Tel.: +33 (0)4 74 06 76 31

Access to Ladies & Wine

vin nouvelle generation en <!  :fr  >A   De Saint Amour à Romanèche Thorins<!  :  ><!  :en  >A  From Saint Amour to Romanèche Thorins<!  :  >

Domain Paul-Henri Thillardon. A young wine grower with traditional know-how, Paul-Henri is widely travelled, has instructed himself in the history of lands and their soil and in sustainable wine growing techniques. With six hectares of vines exploited under the Ecocer Label, he produces about ten vintages and that is not all! He is planning a new plantation of Chiroubles, white of the Vionnié grape variety, some Chénas and Beaujolais red and rosé from the vines on the “Pierres Dorées”. His star wines: the Réserve Blémonte in AOC Chenin and the Rosé des Rosés in Beaujolais. A rising star who also belongs to the Young wine growers of Europe association. Visits by appointment. Tel.: +33 (0)6 07 76 00 91

Access to Organic wine

De St Amour à Romanèche <!  :fr  >A   De Saint Amour à Romanèche Thorins<!  :  ><!  :en  >A  From Saint Amour to Romanèche Thorins<!  :  >


art et vin en <!  :fr  >A   De Saint Amour à Romanèche Thorins<!  :  ><!  :en  >A  From Saint Amour to Romanèche Thorins<!  :  >

Domaine de la Chapelle de Vâtre. A Belgian native, Dominique Capart arrived in the Beaujolais region in 1996. A newcomer adopted and voted in as president of the Inter Beaujolais association. Dominique has entrusted the work on his vines and the elaboration of his Beaujolais to a cellar master. Seven hectares, three colours and an Allys vintage created from vines that were planted in 1936.
His wife had been looking for a space, both beautiful and vast, to show off her art collection. The seventeenth century country house with its twelfth century Roman chapel was taken over by Art and Wine. The labels for the bottles were created by artists as well as by some of the children in the family. The vats have been installed in modern cellars and exhibitions by renowned contemporary artists take place in the chapel. Visits by appointments. Tel: +33 (0)4 74 04 43 57

Access to Art of Wine


Romanèche is the village at the bottom and Thorins is the one at the top, the wine-growing village.

Wine-tourism concept Château Portier, wine and grain to grind. We are at the heart of the Moulin à Vent territory and the property which belongs to Denis Chastel-Sauzet, comes with a windmill, a historical monument from the fifteenth century that he is restoring carefully. The Château dates from 1879, the aviaries in the enclosure, of bourguignon origin, were built in the nineteenth century to enable its owners to have tea in the shade. From there, one can see the vineyards amongst the stone huts. 25 hectares and nine appellations with the Moulin à Vent enthroned and a progressive integration of biodynamic wine culture. A four hectare plot has been planted with chardonnay grapes for a fresh white wine, as well as a sparkling Blanc de Blanc, following the traditional method and fruit juices as a complement, with children in mind. The estate and the windmill can be visited, with a wine-growers picnic and wine tasting classes… by appointment.

Domaine Richard Rottiers. A young wine-grower from a viticulturist family in Chablis, brought up in the tradition and respect for wine, Richard travels through others’ vineyards. He works the gamay variety and in 2007, set up on his own and cultivated four hectares of old vines in the best Moulin à Vent territory. Two vintages, and perhaps four in the near future, a rosé “vin de France” and a softer rosé following the aromatic method. The “Manganese” vintage, from manganese rich ground is a real pleasure for the Moulin à Vent and the “Champ de Cour” vintage, especially well finished with rich flavours of ripened fruits. Visits by appointment only.

Address book <!  :fr  >A   De Saint Amour à Romanèche Thorins<!  :  ><!  :en  >A  From Saint Amour to Romanèche Thorins<!  :  >

The Maritonnes restaurant (opposite the Duboeuf hamlet). Traditional menu combining gastronomy and innovation achieved by the chef Olivier Degand enabling one to sample local specialities in a light manner, within a relaxing open air setting, together with a good wine list. Tel.: +33 (0)3 85 35 51 70

The Departmental Museum of Guilds, Pierre François Guillon